Wolf Stream

Once in a while, I manage to get out with my camera and get some decent pictures. This are the Wolf Falls, that have been already featured in this blog. Actually, I have visited this falls in autumn and winter. Now I wanted to have a picture of the summer season. To have a different composition, this time I went in with a pair of hip waders. In this way, I was able to get in the middle of the stream without any problem.

In the picture below, I used the foam in the stream as a leading line in to the frame. It also works very nice as a balancing element with the falls itself. To achieve maximum deep of field, I took two pictures of the same scene, one focusing on the close rocks and the second one for the far falls. Then, I used the  technique described in Tony Kuyper’s eBook on digital scheimplfug for merging the two pictures (highly recommended). Finally, I gave an overall glow that resembles the foggy atmosphere that I experienced while being there due to the falls spray

Wolf Stream

Wolf Stream - Canon 5D, 24-105 f/4 L, 24mm@f/11, 2s, ISO 100. Two images focused on different points and blended together.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

