Controlled Chaos

Last Tuesday I took the afternoon off and went back to Cauria to take some pictures of the oak and chestnut trees in full autumn colours. When I left home, the weather conditions were really good: overcast and no wind. However, by the time I reached my destination the clouds started to get thinner and finally a low sun was casting its warm light over the trees. I just kept going and found myself at the head of the trail. There was much less snow than the last time. “Hum! This does not look good” I said to myself, but I started the easy trek nonetheless.

I tried to get some pictures of the larch trees still with some pretty colours on them. But nothing really convincing. While I moved around, I saw a nice patch of snow covered with the larch needles and some other yellow leaves. It looked full of potential so I started playing around with lowering the tripod an trying to find a nice compositions. The result is the picture below.

All that is left - Canon 5D, 24-105L, 105mm@f/16, 8s.

I was mainly attracted by the big leaf at the top with the water beads. Only the bottom of the comp was empty. I decided to add another  leaf but by letting it falling in the framing. So, somehow this is not that arranged by me…chaos took part on it as well.

 

Leave a Reply

